Author · Books · Celebrity · Movie · Movie Review · People · Writing

Lolita

I first read Lolita 9 years ago. I was searching on the internet for a good read and my continuous browsing led me to the most talked about novels, there comes Lolita.

Lolita_1955
“This was the first edition from 1955, It has a plain green cover because it wasn’t easy to find a good image to illustrate what the author wanted to be seen from the outside of the book” Nowadays, there are several books of Lolita with different covers and layout.

 

I was so intrigued with its story that I had to google facts about the book even the biography of Vladimir Nabokov. I found out that it was banned from publishing and release to some countries due to its sensitive approach. I mean, it talks about pedophile in general.

When it comes to the word Lolita, My first encounter has Japanese girls with outrageous fashion. I later found out that the over the top fashion tried to cover up the less to none innocence of what it really was.

Tumblr_ku8xhfrM9m1qa20ryo1_400

According to the urban dictionary Lolita is a nickname for Dolores. It is also a term used to describe a prepubescent or adolescent girl who is attractive and sexually responsive. She lusts after older men, and is lusted by them in return. The term originates from the Vladimir Nabakov novel ”Lolita” which told the tale of the love affair between middle aged Humbert and his 12 year old stepdaughter Lolita.

In the U.S, they maintain the personality of Lolita’s character as well as her fashion during early 1950’s, the timeline of the story.

7ba68f085887d9c7e218390db1a635d9

Since then, It stuck in my head. How can something so tragic lead to something that is love and eternal?

Nabokov is such a genius for creating something like this. Something personal, something intriguing,something disturbing and at the same time something human.

Till this day, someone asks me about the story, I can’t help myself but to spoil everything about the book and anyone who asked and got answered, were immediately intrigued and wanted to get hold of the book or at least read the story in no time! Same way when my girlfriend asked about recommended books way back when she was part of my class.Lolita is on top of my list.

Early this morning, I had to face another struggle, that has been bugging me since last week. I can’t sleep and I was still up when I notice that my phone changes to 6:30 in the morning. I tried to rest my eyes but nothing happened. So, I grabbed my phone in an attempt to tire my eyes to finally fall asleep, I stumble upon an Instagram post of a lady wearing a Lolita inspired outfit. My admiration for the book and the story rises out of nowhere.I decided to search if there is any available full length Lolita movie that I can download. I thought that there is a force letting me view the story not just in words but in flesh. To my surprise, there is!

I knew from the time I finished reading the book that there was a movie adaptation, but I guess I was just scared to watch it because I don’t want to get disappointed after proving that some book to movie adaptation sucks.

To my surprise again, I was wrong.

My eyes were hurting already, but the moment I saw the actor who played Humbert Humbert, I knew I had to stay till the last credit.

It was Jeremy Irons, who played the lead and at the same time antagonist of the film.

The character may be sick for falling in love with his step daughter who is 14 years old, no less! But I see no actor who could have played the part in such charm that you’ll forget how twisted he is than Irons.

Of course, while watching I took some time to know his profile on and behind camera and some facts about him is quite impressive

  • He is a theater actor which totally makes sense because a strong theater background can execute the character of Humbert. He acts as if he was a pedophile.
  • His distinctive voice that will make you look twice if you are really listening to a modern man or someone who came from the medieval period. He has done voice over and one notable performance was his voice portrayal of Scar in Lion King and audiobook recording for  The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho) and James and the Giant Peach (Roald Dahl)
  • He owns Kilcoe castle near Ballydehob, Country Cork and have it painted in pink.

Dolores Haze, Lo or as Humber call her “Lolita” is played by Dominique Swain.

 

I don’t know she kind of remind me of Mena Suvari. She is also the perfect girl to play the role of Lolita. She is flowing of sex appeal that somewhat contradicts her beautiful face.

  • She was 14 when she got the role of Dolores. She was the chosen one out of the 2,500 casting candidates.
  • Most of her future films after Lolita includes mature that revolves around the sexual matter and  and horror/slasher films
  • At the age of 21, she was the youngest celebrity to pose nude for PETA’s “I’d Rather Go Naked than Wear Fur” campaign.

Me and my girlfriend find her beautiful just the way I envision Lolita.

Later today I asked my girlfriend to watch the movie. She prefers to watch it first, then read after, for some times. She did and we can’t stop talking about it through chat till I get home while we are having our late dinner.

The only thing she has in mind is “good thing Lolita’s parents allowed her to be in the movie, I mean, the scenes are very, very mature for her age” – I thought about that too! Ha-Ha!

lolita 1
“It was love at first sight, at last sight, at ever and ever sight”

 

lolita
It definitely is the wrong love for the wrong person in terms of our morality, but there is no denying that Humbert felt no less of love for Lolita. His Lo, the light of his life, fire of his loins. ❤

 

I think it was 2 or 3 years ago not sure when they launch the 50th edition.

d9cade7835357ab161bd6eace33e60f9

Today it is regarded as one of the prime achievements in 20th century literature, though also among the most controversial. The novel was adapted into a film by Stanley Kubrick in 1962, and again in 1997 by Adrian Lyne. It has also been adapted several times for the stage and has been the subject of two operas, two ballets, and an acclaimed but commercially unsuccessful Broadway musical. Its assimilation into popular culture is such that the name “Lolita” has been used to imply that a young girl is sexually precocious.

Lolita is included on TIME magazine‘s list of the 100 best English-language novels published from 1923 to 2005. It is also fourth on the Modern Library‘s 1998 list of the 100 best novels of the 20th century, and holds a place in the Bokklubben World Library, a 2002 collection of the most celebrated books in history.

Mind you that it’s not just about the ugly truth of a middle aged man being sexually involved with his 12 year old daughter, but how we can see the inner depth of people under this condition. I don’t mean to be righteous and all, but I always believe that things happen due to a cause or reason. In Humbert’s case there is and again this should not excuse him for such crime, but at least understand for the sake of the story how he sees people especially the ones between the age of 9 – 15. 

It is a beautiful craft and I am happy, being able to read the book and watch the adaptation. I guess, I am really a fan of tragically beautiful novels.

You can try it yourself and let me know how you find and feel either be the book or the movie.

After that, I bet we can all agree that Lolita’s fashion is a killer! ❤

Till the next!

The Moody Mina ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Lolita

  1. Actually the term lolikon was used in Japan more in the 80’s and 90’s to describe a man attracted to cute young girls. My Japanese ex was such a person. I was 18 when we married and I think I was good for a couple of years after that. As soon as I became a mother I was too old obviously.

Leave a Reply

